Object Rotations

Man, I did some maths since I started this project !! I’ve got 3 papers on my desk filled with matrix and calculations… There is nothing really hard though.

I added rotations to my objects. It also means if an object rotates it’ll rotate its children. I just need to save rotations in my timeline and add a blend between two key frames and then I should be able to make this skeleton move :

(Red  arrow : local X axis ; Green arrow : local Y axis)

With such an animation editor I should be able to do complex animations with bones and scripted animations (such as falling objects without physic…).

I should be done with this part of the editor soon. Then I’ll work on the FX ! It should be cool.

To sum up, right now I have :

– Hierarchy
– Animation
– Collision detection
– Collision map creation
– Objects creation/edition
– Level editor
– Serialization

Enough to start a game I think… without sound and FX (shaders I mean… Since I could use animations).
But I’ll try to make my editor as complete as possible till end of march. I’ll start after that. Can’t wait ! 🙂

I’ll try to do some videos soon (while working on the FX).

Leave a Reply

