Wall climbing

As I mentioned in a previous post I’m thinking about adding some plateformer elements in the gameplay. I’m designing wall climbing, jumping, wall sliding (top to bottom) and maybe side wall riding. But all of them will be only  possible from dedicated locations. The player will have to tap on a “jump” icon or something as explicit.

Here is my wall climbing placeholder (polishing isn’t my priority at this stage..) :

wall_climb.gif

The animation will be faster in the actual game.

My problem so far is it’s only about style and exploration (hiding a bonus on top of some rocks)… I have a hard time designing crossings with risks for the player since the crossing will be poorly scripted and driven by the animation.. You won’t have to aim nor have a good timing to succeed (in my current design). But I’m still working on it.

Leave a Reply

