OffMesh Links

I’m integrating my climbing animation into my game at the moment.

I didn’t expect it to be a complex task.. But I didn’t know how to connect disjoint nav meshes… And then I discovered the offmesh links…

Offmesh links make the bond between the navmeshes and enable nav mesh agents (entities using the built in path finding tools) to cross unmapped areas (areas that aren’t blue in the picture). That’s what I needed to make a proper crossing logic. But, since I’m triggering a custom animation I needed to know when exactly the character is about to cross. I had a hard time finding some examples for such a behaviour !

Finally I managed to find this code sample which helps a lot.Hope it’ll help you as it did for me !

offmeshes.JPG

Leave a Reply

